Synod Staff

The La Crosse Area Synod is led by a staff of five called together in Christ to serve, connect and lead.

The synod staff is guided by this mission statement: “Called together in Christ, we serve, connect and lead the

La Crosse Area Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.”

Interim Bishop of the La Crosse Area Synod
The Rev. Chris Boerger 

Wm Chris Boerger served as Secretary of the

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America from

November 2013 until October 2019. Prior to this he

served two terms as bishop of the Northwest

Washington Synod, Seattle, WA. He was ordained

in June of 1978.

He is married to Dede Boerger and they have 2 grown

children and 4 grandchildren.

E-mail Interim Bishop Boerger:

Director for Evangelical Mission & Assistant
to the Bishop
The Rev. Elizabeth "Libby" Howe 


Ordained in 2002 following graduation from Trinity

Lutheran Seminary, Columbus, Ohio

Served DeSoto/Freeman Lutheran Parish for 6 years

prior to beginning call on synod staff in 2009.



E-mail Libby:

Office Manager & Executive Admin. Assistant
Melanie Timmerman



Office Manager / Executive Administrative

Assistant to the Bishop

Editor - Synod Update & Coulee Courier


With the synod office since 2003.


E-mail Melanie:

Office Assistant & Call Process Secretary
Brianna Iverson



Call Process and Candidacy

Administration, receptionist


With the synod office since 2020.


E-mail Brianna:




Alice DaFoe



Bookkeeper for Synod and 

Lutheran Campus Ministry


With the synod office since 2004.


E-mail Alice:

God's Work. Our Hands.

There is a place for you here.


We are the church that shares a living, daring confidence in God's grace. Liberated by our faith, we embrace you as a whole person — questions, complexities and all. Join us as we do God's work in Christ's name for the life of the world.

  • Wix Facebook page

Quick Links

Contact Us


2301 South Avenue

La Crosse, WI 54601


Phone 608-788-5000


Hours: Synod staff working on site and from home. Please call to confirm if someone is in the office.  


Map & Directions »

© 2020 All rights reserved.

La Crosse Area Synod ELCA